Monday, March 12, 2012

Review: Summer of Promise

Summer of PromiseSummer of Promise by Amanda Cabot

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Amanda Cabot's new series "Westward Winds" opens with Abigail Harding in Summer of Promise. Abigail is the middle sister who sensed a need to visit her older sister, Charlotte, in Fort Laramie, Wyoming. She hopes to visit her sister and then return to her beau and teaching position in Vermont. After all, Wyoming is a boring place with nothing to do.

I love a Western novel. Cabot offers a new look at the West. Her focus was on the final days of the fort, after the Civil War and after the great migration. It was a pleasure to imagine life in the Fort without the hubbub of people passing through it. At the end of Cabot's novel, she shares that her next novel in the "Westward Winds" series will be coming in Spring of 2013. (It's so hard to wait!! Patience is a virtue and there are so many books to read in one year!) Don't worry, she also shares that a novella will be coming in the Fall. Thank you, Ms. Cabot! I look forward to reading it.

Time Period: Western, 1885
Location: Fort Laramie, Wyoming, USA

Reviewed from a library copy.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...