Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Review: The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill

The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill (Tales from Ivy Hill, #1)The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill is Julie Klassen's newest historical fiction book. It's also the start of a series! The book description from Klassen's website shares,

"The lifeblood of the village of Ivy Hill is its coaching inn, The Bell. When the innkeeper dies suddenly, his genteel wife, Jane Bell, becomes the reluctant landlady. Jane has no idea how to manage a business. But with the town's livelihood at stake and a large loan due, she must quickly find a way to save the inn."

At the end of the book, there was an author's note from Julie Klassen. She talked about her desire to write a novel in the style of a British television show. Think "Larkrise to Candleford" or "Cranford" from the BBC. After reading (and enjoying), The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill, that is where my mind went when I finished the book. Well-written, Author Klassen! I think you succeeded in your writing goal. I felt like I was a part of the community and I wanted to know more about everyone in Ivy Hill. I am looking forward to the next installment of Tales from Ivy Hill. I also feel that this is a book I would read again.

For additional information about the series, Tales from Ivy Hill, visit the website.

Time Period: 18oo's
Location: Ivy Hill, England

Reviewed from a library copy.

Title: The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill
Series: Book 1, Tales from Ivy Hill
Author: Julie Klassen
Release Date: December 6, 2016
ISBN: 9780764218132

View all my reviews on Goodreads.

Wednesday, January 04, 2017

Review: Never Forget

Never Forget is the fifth and final book in Jody Hedlund's series Beacons of Hope. The entire series goes as follows: Love Unexpected, Hearts Made Whole, Undaunted Hope, Forever Safe, and Never Forget. 

Miss Pippi Reads reviews Never Forget by Jody Hedlund
Victoria's fiance, Nathaniel Winthrop III, from Forever Safe is dissatisfied with his life. While sailing with a friend, he gets knocked over board and is lost at sea. He washes ashore on Rose Island and found by light keeper Abbie Watson. Now Abbie needs to manage three men - her ill grandfather, the stranger from the beach, and a man from the Lighthouse Board.

Beacons of Hope series is tied together by lighthouses and faith. The previous titles were located in Michigan and Massachusettes. Hedlund travels to a new state to share a new (and final) tale in the series - Rhode Island.

Reaching the conclusion of a series is exciting, satisfying, and saddening. I love a complete series, but sometimes it's hard to say goodbye. I know Jody Hedlund will keep writing. Her books will be new and exciting and she'll finish her other series. Beacons of Hope was so much fun to read! Thank you for a fun adventure! I look forward to your new books that will be coming in the future.

Miss Pippi Reads quote from Never Forget by Jody Hedlund

Time Period: 1880
Location: Rose Island Lighthouse, Rhode Island, USA

Reviewed from a complimentary copy. Thank you, Jody Hedlund!

Title: Never Forget
Series: Book 5, Beacons of Hope
Author: Jody Hedlund
Release Date: January 4, 2017
ISBN: 9780692770879

Never Forget by Jody Hedlund book quote on the blog Miss Pippi Reads

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...